Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Need Advice: Not credited in the final project.

Default Need Advice: Not credited in the final project.

Hi,

I'm in a tough position. I'm an editor with a few years of experience in the field and I am in unfamiliar waters at the moment.

I've learned the hard way to draw contracts for any sort of job I do. I took a job to edit a music video for a friend, an artist without a written contract. However, being an easy and trusting guy, I accepted the artist's word saying he'll pay my compensation after the video is released since we started on good grounds and he's known me for a few years and we've done some work together before.

I spent 70+ hours on the project and knowing the artist as "a friend", I handed the final video to him to take it to a lab for color correction I didn't hesitate to oblige. However, I just saw the video online today and found out that I'm not credited at all. Instead, he credited himself as the director and the editor.

The money is of an less importance. What hurts the most is not being acknowledged for all the hard work I've put in on a discount rate for a hopeful artist who's on the budget to make a break in the music video scene.

The video is on YouTube and is sent to be played on a few TV stations. I'm here asking for any advice from you guys cause I'm in a situation I have never been put into.

Blog Entries

Always make sure that you have a written agreement. It doesn't have to be a formal contract, a simple letter or e-mail will do.

You've learnt the hard way. This is one you'll have to put down to experience. Remember what the producer Samuel Goldwyn said:

"A verbal contract is not worth the paper it's written on."

The bottom line is there is a lot you can do, a lot you can try, none of which will work or make any difference. Don't waste even more time and effort.

3. Default