Thread: Preprogrammed shooting

Default Preprogrammed shooting

I'm new at this...

I recently shot my first music video. It's a TV audition tape for an orchestra I play in and was mostly done with a high end SLR (Nikon D4) a few good microphones and a small mixing desk. This was generally fine although I'm sure I'd do a much better job if I did it again. One problem is I couldn't play because I was shooting. Also, although I shot with a tripod on a dolly, there was quite a lot of poor camera movement/focus in a lot of shots.

We would like to record all of our concerts so I was thinking about how this could be mostly automated and improved. I had a look at cameras and came across the Pan, Tilt, Zoom concept. Something like 3 Sony BRC-Z330 would probably suit our needs well but I welcome comments.

What I would like to do is be able to pre-program a series of preset camera positions (shot of oboe, shot of second violins etc). I would like a piece of software that I could then program to switch to specific shot positions at specific times.

For bonus marks, I would like to link the timing to bar numbers. So if we're playing a piece with 200 bars that lasts 10 minutes: I could say, switch to oboe shot at bar 9. Ideally I would be able to resync where we're up to if we're not bang on the programmed tempo. So if,we're at bar 49 and the program thinks we're at 50, I could click on bar 49 to resync.

For double bonus marks, it would be nice if the program could come up with a pre-programmed rough cut that I could fix in post-edit. I'd have the 3 cameras videos lined up with the rough cut and could swap shots/timings etc.

Is such a thing possible? What options do I have/would people recommend?

Thanks in advance

Blog Entries

It is possible, the BBC have something which can do that in Media City in Manchester.

I think they paid 11 million for it.