Thread: advice re promo dvd

Default advice re promo dvd

i have been asked to make a 3-5 min promo dvd for a company, this will involve stills of the business (to be taken by a photographer friend), text tiles / scrolling text etc, original music and voice over being used. No video.

i am an amateur film maker (made 2 short films to date) and i am just starting to develop my limited knowledge of film making.

i am looking forward to doing this film and feel creatively it is not a problem (music is fine as i am a musician with my own recording set up), however i am concerned about technical requirements for the film.

i am p.c. based, i have used premier in the past, however i was thinking about something simple like movie maker for a task like this.

what technical requirements (editing software / pc requirements /mastering software / editing tips etc)

would more experienced film makers be looking to use for a task like this.
    any hints / tips would be grateful as i really want to make my first professional (as in getting paid for it) film.

thanks

Funny that, I will be doing my first Promo (for a Wedding Car business) in the next month or so.

Oddly enough what is important to me, isn't the choice of software (I will use Premiere Elements or ULead MediaStudio), but what message and what styles the client wants to cnvey to his potential customers.

I will spend quite a bit of time with the client, and I will look at his existing promotion & marketing material. I will alos ask him about his competitors and find out what he thinks makes his company that little bit better (Service, Quality of Cars, Professionalism etc).

From all of this I will preapare a number of prototype scripts then discuss. I will then finalise the script and prepare a shooting plan. Filem, edit and present to client. make appropriate adjustments following that and then go to final burn.