Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Canon HF-R606 rattles and ticking noise

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Location
    Liverpool UK
    Posts
    2

    Default Canon HF-R606 rattles and ticking noise

    I have found the following problems and solutions to my new Canon HF-R606 camcorder and hope it will help anyone thinking of buying this model.

    1. Rattle noise from camcorder when turned off and shaken. (slightly !)
    This is normal ( as stated in the online manual)
    The rattle is from the lens system and it stops when the camcorder is turned on.

    2. Ticking noise from autofocus system. This is very annoying as it can be heard in the video playback.
    You have to go into the menu and switch to manual focus.

    I would of thought that Canon could have done a better job of isolating the mics from the lens system.

    Other than this, I am happy with my "new toy". It does slow motion and time lapse which is good fun, records in Mp4 which suits Sony Movie Studio 13
    on my laptop and it cost just 159 ( after 20 cash back from Canon )

    One of my Hi-8 camcorders cost me 1000 years ago !

    Cheers.
    Dave.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    1,458

    Default

    A quick fix might be an external microphone - you should use manual focus anyway

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Location
    Liverpool UK
    Posts
    2

    Default

    Thanks for your comments zamiotana. The Camcorder is only a basic model and is not fitted with mic-in, I wish it was.
    As you say, manual focus should be used anyway and I am getting used to it at the moment.
    The ticking from the autofocus mechanism is only audible in quiet situations so I assume that this is not a fault with the camcorder, I may be asking too much from
    such a bargain product.
    Thanks again.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    1,458

    Default

    No problem

    DV camcorders (you can probably still find one in your Gran's basement) suffered from tape noise and the po' boys way to solve this was simply to add some ambient background noise in edit - you could try this if the noise is really bothering you - alternately you could pick up a stand-alone audio capture device and solve the problem correctly (the zoom H2n is a current option I believe).
    Last edited by zamiotana; 08-15-2015 at 12:26 PM.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-07-2011, 03:22 PM
  2. sound whit some cuts or noise ( Canon XM2 )
    By RFPower in forum Technology advice and tips
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-26-2010, 12:14 AM
  3. Cleaning up noise in Canon XH A1 (or in general)
    By Sang Hee in forum Technology advice and tips
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 06-23-2010, 11:44 PM
  4. Canon XH-A1 with Sennheiser Directional Mic Noise
    By johnjpj in forum Technology advice and tips
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-20-2008, 11:29 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •