Thread: Zooming in on very large images

Default Zooming in on very large images

Hey there, I'm a bit stuck on a project I'm working on. Ive created a large map of the whole Uk and was hoping to zoom in on an area to show the viewer the location of where the video was shot. Lets say I want to zoom in on a sports field for an idea of size. Once zoomed in the sports field needs to be as detailed as a photo without looking pixilated.

So the map is created in photoshop. 30,000 by 30,000 (max pixels, I forget the number) Really it needs to be bigger but photoshop limits what I can save the file as if it gets any bigger. Premiere pro is limited to about a 16,000 by 16,000 or there abouts I believe so I can't import the image there to add the zoom animation (After effects is the same but I have little experience with after effects anyway) and is severely limited on how much It can be zoomed in on anyway. So I upgraded to Photoshop CS6 Extended as it has a built in video editing timeline but again it seems the zoom function is limited like Premiere.

So I'm a bit stuck.

Best case scenario, I build a huge map, 50,000 by 50,000+ with fine details when zoomed in like google street view. Then manage to animate the zoom for the video project.

If that's not possible I'd need to create lots of maps, one for each level of zoom, assemble them all together somehow. But I'd need to create a lot of maps and I feel It's maybe not worth It. Not thought this one through as much though.

Worst case scenario I have three maps, one for each level of zoom. A box appears to show the portion that will be zoomed next then it appears like a bit of a slide show. This I can do but It's not how I dreamt it. Wont look as good, will take longer but I may have to settle here.

An alternative is I use a capture card and just manually zoom in on my big map in photoshop, then crop the edges after. But It feels weird that this is the solution... There must be a 'proper' way.