Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Absolute beginner seeks the most basic advice

Default Absolute beginner seeks the most basic advice

Ok, total beginner here,
    This is "just for fun to play around with home movies"

When the next iPhone comes out I hope to upgrade to it - if I want to edit the video I take using the next iPhone , what do I need

Windows or apple ?
    Laptop or desktop ?
    Minimum spec ?
    Easy to use but good software ?

I also have a canon eos 650d with its video mode .mov files which would be good to use in conjunction with iPhone .

Any advice = eternal love

Quote Originally Posted by leelyons View Post
    Windows or apple ?
    Either, use what you prefer.

Laptop or desktop ?
    Either, use what you prefer.

Minimum spec ?
    Probably Core2Duo with 4GB, but better CPU, more RAM and better GPU can only help.

Easy to use but good software ?
    Lots out there from free (iMovie, Windows Movie Maker etc) to expensive (Adobe Suite, Final Cut Pro, Sony Vegas, Avid etc).

Thanks David, I just thought apple laptop for apple phone,

Then I thought desktop had better ability for processing without overheating plus the ability to add upgrades ( extra ram etc )

I still have that idea that iPhones and windows arnt easily compatible although maybe that's all been fixed nowadays

Then I thought desktop had better ability for processing without overheating plus the ability to add upgrades ( extra ram etc )
    I'm going to say upfront that I'm a Mac user. I have a MacPro, a couple of iMacs a MacMini and two MacBookPros sat here right now. But does that mean you should be running Apple too? No, you should choose Apple vs Windows based on what you prefer because either / both can do the job.