Thread: Video grainy as heck

Default Video grainy as heck

Hey guys,

Recently shot a video using a Canon vixia hf400 and the video came out super grainy. I've read that low light can cause grain, but I would classify the lighting as pretty good in this case. I shot the footage in the hallway of an office building almost directly under a fluorescent overhead light.

My spidey sense it's telling me that there's a setting somewhere that's messing things up, but I'm new to video and don't know what settings I should be checking.

Here are a few of the settings I used:
    Movie format: mp4
    Video quality: 35mbps
    Focus assistance: on
    Face detection & tracking: on (this was a mistake, and I've since turned it off)
    Auto backlight correction: on
    Auto show shutter: on
    Flicker reduction: off
    Image stabilizer: dynamic
    Shooting mode: Programmed AE (the camera controls shutter speed and aperture automatically. You can control brightness and other settings.)

That's all the settings I could find that I think might have an impact on the noise/grain level. Any recommendations on what to try first?

Thank you!

do you have a sample of the footage ?
    'No longer are the pleasures of Home Movie Making limited to those with ample funds. Now the man and woman of moderate means can join the sport'..... Kodak catalogue 1933

Problem 1 - you shot in an automatic mode (Programmed AE) so you have zero control over the shutter, aperture or gain. The camera will do what ever "it" thinks it needs to get a well lit shot, which usually means increasing gain, which means more digital noise, often (incorrectly) referred to a grain.

Auto backlight makes things ever worse, because it's trying to lift the darker foreground shadows to match any backlit situations.