Thread: Can't Get My Videos Onto Facebook Or Emails

Default Can't Get My Videos Onto Facebook Or Emails

Hi All,

I am brand new to video making and recently got a used Canon D60, Sigma lens and a Rode VideoMic Pro. I've begun doing some basic editing work with iMovie that I have on my fairly new Mac.

To begin with I just want to create some short video clips to post onto Facebook pages and to email to people.

However I'm finding that people can't open the video files when I send them via email and I can't get them onto Facebook either.

Do you have any thoughts?

Many thanks in advance,

Surrey, UK
    Blog Entries

I can't give you instructions for iMovie, but I suspect you are sending them/trying to post teh project files (ie what yu open in iMovie). This is just a set of instructions to iMovie that says "use 15 seconds of this movie file, then 2 second of this one etc". In other words a set of editing instructions rather than a completed movie.

You need to "render" your edited movie (in iMovie) into a completed movie that can be uploaded and emailed.

It does sound like what Tim said, especially if you can email the files. Real video files are usually too big to email especially HD video. There is also the possibility that you are rendering to a format that people don't have the right codec to play the video but I'd plump for Tim's suggestion first.

4. Default

You should try to resize your videos before you upload them, try to use Handbreak or some other softwares...

Thanks for your help guys.

Unfortunately I can't find a button or any other kind of facility in iMovie to 'render' so didn't think I had to do it there.

Like I said in my other current thread, I'm already finding iMovie very frustrating to use and one of the reasons is the apparent lack of any kind of rendering / publishing facility that is obvious.

Any suggestions on better editing software would be appreciated too.

Surrey, UK
    Blog Entries

Quote Originally Posted by Tim64 View Post