Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Yet another noob - any media composer guys out there?

Default Yet another noob - any media composer guys out there?

So, I'm a recovering audio engineer and I recently had a paid video gig fall in my lap. So, using the client's gopro I'll be hopefully shooting a series of instructional videos. I'm inclined to use avid media composer for editing given my experience and comfort level with pro tools. I'm already seeing some crossover in design philosophy with regard to protect setup, file structure, etc.

While I know that avid is probably overkill for what I'm doing now, I'd rather learn on one software and stick with it than have to upgrade and start the learning curve over later. The new subscription model they're doing for the software also makes it entirely affordable given that this is actually a paid gig.

So, that said are there any media composer guys out there willing to hit me with some pointers (things you wish you had known sooner) and/or willing to serve as a resource if I get hung up on something?

Thanks in advance!

P.s. I'm a pc guy in Windows 7 pro

Quote Originally Posted by snapicus View Post

are there any media composer guys out there willing to hit me with some pointers (things you wish you had known sooner) and/or willing to serve as a resource if I get hung up on something?

Thanks in advance!

P.s. I'm a pc guy in Windows 7 pro
    Might be s struggle with the GoPro !?
    'No longer are the pleasures of Home Movie Making limited to those with ample funds. Now the man and woman of moderate means can join the sport'..... Kodak catalogue 1933

Quote Originally Posted by enc View Post
    Might be s struggle with the GoPro !?
    How so? Is there a compatibility issue with videos shot on the gopro and avid? Or are you just referring to the actual video quality presented by a consumer-grade camera?

Quote Originally Posted by snapicus View Post