Thread: what software do i buy

Default what software do i buy

i need software to edit short movies and youtube videos for windows 7. i dont know what software to buy though. im willing to spend up to sixty dollars (Australian currency). please give me a recommended list thank you. also just to note im fairly new to editing the most experience ive had is imovie and windows movie maker.

Blog Entries

Quote Originally Posted by Talonqr View Post
    the most experience ive had is imovie and windows movie maker.
    And what don't they do that you need to do?
    Tim

I second Tim's question. While I don't have much experience with Movie Maker, what is it that iMove doesn't do that you need?

Many people have tools such as iMovie but never learn how to use it properly, so never understand how powerful a tool it can be.

It may be better spend your money (much less of it) on training from sites such as Lynda.com. This way you not only save money but learn how to use a lot of tools quickly and easily.

If there are specific things you need that iMovie doesn't do, let us know and we have try to help out in a more specific way.

Many people have tools such as iMovie but never learn how to use it properly, so never understand how powerful a tool it can be.

i have to say windows movie maker in its current form is a hideous piece of software and IMO not a good introduction to time line editing.... in that its fairly 'unique' in its concept.

Lots of folk in our video club use serif movie plus... previous version can be had for arounf 20

i haven't used it myself but have seen many tutorials at out club and it appears intuitive and more in line with typical nonlinear editing programs that you might want to up grade to once you become mire experienced.

others to consider are

Adobe Premiere elements
    sony vegas