Thread: Beginner Questions need help asap

Default Beginner Questions need help asap

Im currently a beginner, who is looking to reach the professional level as a video editor. I have some questions-- so thank you in advance to all answers
    ok so,
    1) Can you give me a top 5 for software programs? Something I can learn to use now that will still enable me to be able to make professional looking videos?(It can be PC or Mac, although Mac would be preferable because that's the kind I use on a day to day basis)
    2) Are there any books, videos, etc that you would recommend I read to learn all that I can to become a will versed video editor?
    3) Is a laptop ok to use? Or does having a desktop make a huge difference?--or are there any alternatives is so, like maybe just hooking up a monitor to display whats on my laptop screen?
    4) Is there a ballpark estimate you can give me from personal experience as well as knowledge on the subject on how much a set up that I can make "pro quality" videos on would be? Can you give me maybe a cheapest price(necessities only)--all the way to the most expensive price(without being excessive, just thorough)

once again thanks for all answers

Quote Originally Posted by parker7d7 View Post
    Im currently a beginner, who is looking to reach the professional level as a video editor. I have some questions-- so thank you in advance to all answers
    ok so,
    1) Can you give me a top 5 for software programs? Something I can learn to use now that will still enable me to be able to make professional looking videos?(It can be PC or Mac, although Mac would be preferable because that's the kind I use on a day to day basis)
    2) Are there any books, videos, etc that you would recommend I read to learn all that I can to become a will versed video editor?