Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Multi-freeze frame sequence...

  1. #1

    Default Multi-freeze frame sequence...

    Hello everyone. I was wondering if by any chance anyone has any idea of how to create this effect and which software would be the most appropriate to create it. Any help or tips would be greatly appreciate it, since I am planning on running an obstacle race and I'll be taking videos of the race, hoping to end up with good media to create this effect as shown on this video below.

    GoPro Hero 3+ Silver Edition
    GoPro Hero

    • Macbook Pro 2.5 GHz quad-core Intel Core i7 with 16 GB RAM
    with Intel Iris Pro Graphics + AMD Radeon R9 M370X / 2GB GDDR5 memory
    • Avid Media Composer v8.3
    • Baselight 4.3.5
    • DaVinci Resolve 12
    • Avid Artist Color
    • Adobe After Effect CS6

    “The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results.” Albert Einstein

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Helsinki, Finland
    Posts
    137

    Default

    I believe similiar effect can be archieved in almost any editing software that allows you to manually mask footage and have many video layers. The process is pretty simple:

    1. Bottom layer is your footage.
    2. Choose the part you'd like to freeze.
    -Copy the original layer
    -Time freeze it so it only shows the current frame
    -Mask out everything but the thing you wish to freeze (in your example, the bicyclist). It means you basically have to "draw" silhouette around your character, so more complex it is the longer it takes.
    3. Now you have one frozen character. Move forward in your clip, repeat the process for other spots. In the end you should have your original footage running in the background and these silhouettes just popping in on right frames.

    If cutting out the character seems too complex in your video editor, you could always use Photoshop or other image editor. Just save frames that you later wish to use as time freeze ones, then remove the background from them. I'd do everything in After Effects if possible.

  3. #3

    Default

    Thank you for the reply SSCinema. Actually I was breaking my head trying to figure out how to do it using Avid MC or FCP 7, but I didn't think of Photoshop, since it would make my job 100 times easier, and then exporting the image as a PNG file with transparent background would solve all of my problems. So easy and yet I didn't think of it.

    Again, thanks so much for the ideas.
    GoPro Hero 3+ Silver Edition
    GoPro Hero

    • Macbook Pro 2.5 GHz quad-core Intel Core i7 with 16 GB RAM
    with Intel Iris Pro Graphics + AMD Radeon R9 M370X / 2GB GDDR5 memory
    • Avid Media Composer v8.3
    • Baselight 4.3.5
    • DaVinci Resolve 12
    • Avid Artist Color
    • Adobe After Effect CS6

    “The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results.” Albert Einstein

Similar Threads

  1. freeze / pause a frame on a pan
    By castman in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 03-03-2010, 12:25 PM
  2. freeze frame please
    By gdtree16 in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-21-2007, 06:39 AM
  3. Freeze Frame
    By chribonn in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-30-2007, 08:41 AM
  4. How do I put 600 images into a frame by frame sequence?
    By Bananadude in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 02-16-2007, 02:41 PM
  5. freeze frame?
    By jellz77 in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-07-2005, 06:29 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •