Thread: Nistor Ioan - A video about a local craftsmen in Romania

1. Question Nistor Ioan - A video about a local craftsmen in Romania

Hello everyone,

My name is Aljosha Merz. I am a keen amateur film editor, hoping to tun my passion into a profession
    I am new to this forum, mainly because I am looking for some more feedback regarding my video:

This video was created while I was in Romania for a local NGO, but they haven't gotten back to me yet
    Any feedback is highly appreciated!
    Thanks in advance!
    Aljosha

Blog Entries

You describe yourself as a film editor, but it is unclear whether you shot the footage yourself, so some of this relates to the shots rather than the editing.

The audio, both voiceover and pieces to camera, was good and clear, well mixed and the choice of music seemed appropriate.
    I liked the lower third although I'd have made the "leather" band quite a bit narrower - just taller than the text.
    The shots of Nistor (eg 1:0looked a bit off. As with the shots of Alexandru, check out the "rule of thirds" - avaoid placing your subject in the centre of the shot. With Nistor in particular, it was a strange composition, too far from the subject.
    By contrast, the close ups of him working the leather were much more interesting.
    Cut out the zooms.
    I liked the cutaways of Nistor doing his work, the cutaways of the tower, on the other hand, (presumably used to cover edits in the interview) felt a bit repetitive. Also there were points where it became a bit hypnotic - Interviewee says a sentence, cutaway and fade up music, fade down again, interviewee says a sentence ...