Thread: DV Capture to PC results is VERY POOR quality

Default DV Capture to PC results is VERY POOR quality

Hi,

I'm fairly new to the DV world and recently purchased a sony pc105e miniDV camcorder.

Having taken my first movie shots on a weekend, I played back the footage via my TV directly from the camcorder. I was amazed at how clear and bright everything was. It was exactly what I had expected.

So, I wanted to edit the movie on my PC - you know, add titles, sound, cut out some stuff, move things around etc.. etc..

I did some research on the web for what software to use - I came up with Cyberlink's PowerDirector v3.0.

So I connected my camcorder to my pc (Pentium 4, 2.66 Ghz, 256mb RAM, GEForce 4 card) using a belkin firewire cable. Clicked the "record" button and waited till the whole "movie" had recorded onto my pc. At this point, I stuck to the default capture settings - MPEG 1, Medium Quality.

Having captured the movie, I started doing my editing and then playing back bits on my PC screen to see what they looked like. I was quite shocked to see the video was all choppy and blurred and well, basically NOTHING like how I had seen it on my TV (clear and beautiful). And this was on a 15" monitor, full screen it looked blocky/choppy and basically ugly. I decided to still burn what I had done onto a VCD to watch on my TV. It came out really bad. (OK, so it was a VCD and not SVCD or DVD).

Then I thought about changing the PowerDirector default capture settings. I changed it to HIGH quality, and then re-captured my movie. It was marginally better, but still nowhere near the quality stored on the DV tape.

Incidentally, I had about 55 minutes of "movie" on my DV tape, and when captured, it amounted to only 1GB.
    What I had read about on the web was that a 60 minute tape would probably take up about 30GB of disk space. SO that confused me even more.