Thread: Newbie looking for any recommendations you may have!

Default Newbie looking for any recommendations you may have!

Hi all,

This may be a little bit of a long first post as I am pretty new to all of this!

I have just picked up a Panasonic HC-W850 camcorder, Serif Movieplus x6, a 32gb PNY memory card and a velbon tripod to start me off..
    This is my first real delve into making videos and using equipment other than my iphone and windows movie maker.

So my editing goals are only basic, which are making youtube videos such as vlogs, reviews, guitar covers, filming trips and just making random videos etc. However I wanted to invest in a decent camcorder which has great image quality, and part of my main goal is to keep my videos in the highest possible video quality! The W850 has impressed me so far.. apart from the battery life, but then again I will buy a spare when funds allow. I should add, this is the first time I've ever owned and used a camcorder too! I also aim to look into recording audio separately for my guitar covers, but that's for a few months time!

My laptop is an HP Pavilion G series (hand me down) and unfortunately I won't be upgrading this for a while due to being in between jobs and having severely limited funds.. However its screen is HD (unsure if its full 1080p though) and fair in size and has managed to run serif and allow me to edit and export AVCHD footage.
    Would a faster bigger better spec'd laptop or desktop mean I lose less video quality during editing? Or would it just make editing smoother and exporting faster?