Thread: Need help for SFX

Default Need help for SFX

The explosion effect at 03:15 in my latest video doesn't look as real as I would like. I already played around with color grading and have a light mask but the result is not what I was aiming for.
    The quality is more than fine for this video but I would like to improve for others. Is there something obvious I did wrong?

As I'm sure you know I'm not an SFX expert but that has never stopped me on giving advice is the past.

The first thing that I observed was the explosion didn't start from within the container, for me it should have been more of a mushroom cloud starting inside the container and working it's way up. The other big "out point" was the lack of effect of all the other things on screen. An explosion is a bright light, what would that look like on the other objects ? Would it cause shadows ? etc... Take a look at some "Hollywood Explosions" and see what is happening right across the screen.

Hope that helps get you started.

Too much fire, too much smoke around the edges. That's not what it's going to look like for real.

The fire would be unlikely to cause any smoke or black edges in this scenario (they tend to appear many meters away from the source) and would also create additional lighting effects on the background and the arm. It's can't be treated in isolation.

Alsol flames tend to be coloured based on the combustable materials. That looks like a petrol/oil fire. If you look at the fire from (say) butane it's blue.

Making explosions like this is really hard, especially if you're using stock fire designed for larger sets.

I think I get your points. Actually I tried grading the color and added light masks for inside the container and the surrounding but probably I should just have pushed it harder.

Out of interest, here are images from XXXRay's exploding bottle, my own burning garden table; and an exploding building from the 007 movie (Skyfall).