Thread: Absolute beginner

Default Absolute beginner

Hi all, firstly please forgive my ignorance as I an utter novice in this field. I recently acquired (for free!) a Sony HVR A1E which had lain unused in a cupboard for about 3 years in a collection of boxes. The previous owner told me that he thought it was broken but when I got it home, put it together and plugged it in, it started charging and 'appears' to work okay but please bear in mind I haven't fully tested it.

My first question is about the camera. I was told that it was a reasonable bit of kit despite being quite old. Is that the case or is it way out of date? It seems to use tapes which strikes me as a bit out of date but it also has a sort of memory card too. I'm a bit confused because recording onto tape seems to run counter to my understanding of digital technology? Opinions of the camera and clarification would be welcome

My second question relates to actually making films. Is there a decent guide book that is not camera specific that covers the 'process' of film making? My interest lies in possibly making short local history and documentary pieces as opposed to drama.

My IT setup is fairly basic - I have an iMac 27 with 16GB of RAM. I have no special software but I gather the built in iMovie is okay as a starting point?

Many thanks in advance for your assistance.

Peter

The Sony HVR A1E was a reasonable camera in it's day, though never top of the line or anywhere near it.

As I recall this was switchable between DV & HDV. DV is standard definition and HDV is sort of HD in so far as it's 1440x1080 with non square pixels (don't sweat it - it's fine). It was used a lot a few years ago because the bandwidth could fit on an old DV tape.

The memory stick was only used for stills captures, probably only up to 1920x1080 but I could be wrong.