Thread: live preview of green screen chroma key effects

Question live preview of green screen chroma key effects

Hi all,

I searched around, but couldn't find anything. I was hoping someone could help me with my setup. I'm not a complete novice, but at the moment I only have a computer, camera (hdmi-out only) and a green screen. Nothing else yet.

I am looking to create something the weather presenter used to have. (no longer, since they now just use giant screens). A green screen setup, where the presenter has a monitor on the side, that displays a live preview of the feed with the chroma key effects added-in showing some images on which she has to point out certain things.

I think I need a capture card, to get the signal into the computer.
    And specific software to record and apply the chroma key effects LIVE on the monitor. while recording...

I really hope someone can help me out! That would help a bunch!

I know, I am a few years late
    However, a few days ago I was asking myself the same question: How do I get live chroma preview (no idea if this is what the pros call it).
    I since found a solution for anyone who happens to stumble on this thread.
    I used the Blackmagic Web Presenter (https://www.blackmagicdesign.com/pro...icwebpresenter) to get my camera signal via HDMI into my PC and the Open Broadcaster Software (OBS: https://obsproject.com/de) to key out the chroma from the live feed.
    OBS is a free programm, there is other software like Wirecaster or VidBlast. There might also be other software the pros use, but for a no budget production (I got the web presenter from a friend) this setup works. One thing to keep in mind when using other software, ist that the Web Presenter is not a capture card. It takes the input from your camera and connects via USB to the PC, so the PC recognizes the presenter as a webcam.
    Hope I could help anyone. Happy chroma keying

Quote Originally Posted by Ali9311 View Post
    I know, I am a few years late