Thread: Video cant fit into a 4.7GB DVD

Default Video cant fit into a 4.7GB DVD

Hello I'm a beginner with vegas pro 13 ,Normally when I render the final size of the video can't fit into a DVD,What settings do I need for rendering HD videos and finally burn them into a 4.7GB DVD,please kindly assist

You need to adjust the bitrate to make the content fit on a DVD. Vegas Pro Tools > Burn Disc does not give you a chance to change the bitrate, so you need to use the appropriate DVD Architect compliant templates in File > Render as. You can change the bitrate as needed in Customize Template.

Use a bitrate calculator. A "trivial formula" is: Total bitrate = 600 / minutes. Subtract your audio bitrate (.2Mb/s for typical AC3), and you have your average video bitrate number. http://www.johncline.com/bitcalc110.zip

The tutorial below shows what you need.
    https://www.moviestudiozen.com/free-...deo-onto-a-dvd

And use only Taiyo Yuden or Verbatim (not the Life series) DVD blanks. May be a bit more expensive but generally considered to be the most reliable discs.
    Get a couple of rewritable DVD blanks while you practise.
    Last edited by vkmast; 11-18-2014 at 09:50 AM.

Thanks-vkmast, I will get back to you the tutorial is helpful

There's all that stuff that vkmast said which is right. BUT make sure you are rendering the video to a standard definition format. Use the DVD Architect mpeg2 template for your region. So long as the video isn't about 2hrs long you should be able to get it to fit on a DVD.

SOme SV templates here to get those long videos onto DVD-A
    I render the audio separately as AC3

http://www.sonyvegas.co.uk/render-templates-for-dvd/

Quote Originally Posted by Z Cheema View Post
    SOme SV templates here to get those long videos onto DVD-A
    I render the audio separately as AC3
    http://www.sonyvegas.co.uk/render-templates-for-dvd/
    Thanks alot Z Cheema I've taken up the snaps

Quote Originally Posted by Midnight Blue View Post