Thread: wedding filming question

Default wedding filming question

Hi Guys & Girls,

First of all let me introduce myself, my name is Chris and I am a VFX artist who has decided to jump ship and set up a wedding cinema business.

I have been slowly building up my equipment, knowledge and editing techniques ect, and am planning for my first wedding which is booked for Feb 2015. However, today I was sent an email from the client which is actually from the registrar regarding the ceremony.

This email states that if the couple are planning on having the wedding filmed, only one camera (static) and one camera man (static) is allowed at the ceremony. This email seemed to me to be more guidlines than orders but my question is, is this a usual email to be sent from the registrar/venue, are rules like these adhered to and if so, how is it best to go about filming a compelling ceremony with only one camera?

Would love to hear from anyone who has had this kind of problem or anyone with some advice.

These aren't (UK) carved in stone, more . . . registrar's personal preferences, probably based on a poor experience with the band of wandering minstrels known as 'The arty hand held guys'.
    These muppets are a huge distraction in any ceremony and no doubt think everyones watching them 'being arty' when everyone should really be concentrating on the ceremony itself. Hence the restrictions on any professional covering a wedding at the same venue/registrar afterwards.
    My solution would be to arrive in plenty of time and offer the hand of reassurance to the registrars. Explain you will have both cams on a tripod and won't be moving from the allocated spot at all during the ceremony and won't film the 'live' signing of the register either. (I always do anyway, but on a wide shot and looking nonchalantly elsewhere).