Thread: XL1s and XL2

Default XL1s and XL2

Hi guys,
    I wish to find some answers to the framemode setting. Currently I'm shooting on 1/25 framemode, but if I adjust the shutter to 1/50, 1/100. Will the footages be recorded in 25fps? or it will goes up to 50fps, 100fps?

The 16:9 cine look is also giving headache as it stretches the screen vertically upwards, i thought it be fine when i edit it but after i digitised the footage remain stretch? I have read comments that the 16:9 isnt the true setting.....
    How can I shoot on 16:9 but yet fit onto 4:3 screen?
    Ideas are just dreams, unless they are put to action

Okay, let me answer this to the best of my ability and with the caveat that I am not a professional photographer or videographer.

Firstly, shutter speed and fps are two completely separate entities. You will not alter one by changing the other. Shutter speed contols only the amount of exposure to light time allowed for a frame (and in the case the of a camcorder the amount of charge the CCD receives). Changing the shutter speed directly effects the amount of blur any moving objects you are filming will create. The slower the shutter speed, the more blur apparent. Of course this has to be taken in consideration of the strength of the light which is entering the lens at that time too. The shorter the shutter speed the crispier the image and conversely the longer the shutter speed the blurrier the image.

Let's take a look at your scenario specifically. You are shooting in frame mode. As there are not many motion samples taken per frame in this mode it will help for you to have a slightly longer exposure time in order to create some blur and therefore rid yourself of the strobing effect shooting in frame can often produce. You will have to experiment with the settings a bit.

Do you have a specific reason for shooting in frame mode?

I don't understand your 16:9 question. Why on earth would you want to shoot in 16:9 for playback on 4:3?
    Lloyd