Thread: Need Software Advice for Video & Audio!

Cool Need Software Advice for Video & Audio!

Hello Everyone!

I am just getting into video/audio editing and am a bit confused as to what editing software I need.

I have a 6' x 6' treated sound room in which I plan to record video with voice-over quality audio. I have recently purchased a high-quality Equitek condenser mic which will plug into a Tascam DR-60 on which my Panasonic HDC-TM90 consumer level HD video camera will mount. I will then transfer video and sound files to my workstation using a card reader and then sync the audio and video tracks using Plural Eyes by Red Giant. And this is where I am now stuck.

I am not sure what is a good video editor (I know of Adode Premier and Cyberlink Power Director) and separately what is a good audio editor (I know about Audacity).

The video will be simple, mostly a static head shot of me or me at a blackboard. It is the audio which needs to be voice-over quality and so I am not sure about using two stand-alone programs (audio and video) and their ability to work together. I see the Power Director Suite has an Audio editor, but not sure if Audacity is better. I'm very familiar with computers, but no editing experience. What's got me a bit concerned is I paid $79 for Plural Eyes which only syncs audio files with the video track and it seems that any good video editor should be able to do that or am I wrong?

All suggestions and comments very much appreciated!

William in San Diego, California

We used PluralEyes for a while but no longer use it since the editor we use (FCPX) can do it internally.

However, I doubt you really even need anything like PluralEyes if you are doing everything yourself in your own facilities. While PluralEyes could save time here and there, it's not essential and syncing has been done for decades without it.