Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Widescreen TV erroneous underscan

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    London
    Posts
    1,386

    Default Widescreen TV erroneous underscan

    Rigth I bought a mamoth 32" Widescreen TV on ebay a few months ago.
    It's a Daewoo so it was cheap. Now the prob I'm having with it is that the overscan is too high. It clips off too much of the screen. Its noticable on channels that have a constant ident in one of the top corners of the screen.
    Anyone anyideas on how to sort this?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    11,514
    Blog Entries
    24

    Default

    Sounds like a case of RTFM

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Berkshire, UK
    Posts
    791

    Default

    You may not like what you see should you find a means of correcting it. It's a well known means for manufacturers to overscan in order to hide defects in the geometry and power supply fluctuations. I think this is particularly the case in cheaper make TV's.

    One thing you can try is that if your DVD has an incremental zoom function you can zoom out - effectively underscanning. Just to see what it's like

    Have fun
    Lloyd

    That's my opinion. If you don't like it I have others

    System: Apple Macbook Pro 17, and an external Freecom 500GB eSATA drive.
    Software: Final Cut Studio 2 (FCP 6, Motion 3, Soundtrack Pro 2, Color, DVD Studio Pro 4, Compressor 3), Sonicfire Pro 4.5
    Favourite Resources: Findsounds.com, Free DVD menus, Ken Stone's FCP Page, Wikivid

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    11,514
    Blog Entries
    24

    Default

    Just done a quick google search, which essentially backs up what Lloyd describes...

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Kansas City, Missouri, USA, Earth, Sol, Milky Way, Local Group, Universe 42
    Posts
    329

    Default

    If you want to measure the overscan, I've put a test VCD file at http://crusty.lsmo.sytes.net/video/

    There's PAL and NTSC types. Magix Video Edit Pro 10 came with a ready made project for this, I used it then measured my own TV, a 25" cheapy Emerson. and it was 14%/16% horizontal and 16%/18% vertical. I need to make a linearity test pattern too. I'm sure it's got a pincushion error too.
    Fav quote - "Experience is whatcha don't get 'till ya don't need it no more."

    System - Athlon 1.4GHz, Win98, Hauppauge PVR250 receiver and compressor.
    Software -Magix Movie Edit Pro 10, Nero 6 + NeroVision Express, Moho 4.61, PSP 8.1, Bryce, Quicktime 6.52 pro, Goldwave 5, DVD-Lab.
    Cameras - Panasonic GS9, Canon ES8400V, Canon EOS D20 and Canon A70

Similar Threads

  1. Widescreen .... please help
    By robinf in forum Technology advice and tips
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 11-25-2006, 10:42 PM
  2. Widescreen
    By vegasarian in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 06-11-2006, 07:35 AM
  3. Why not widescreen?
    By Ian in Northampton in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 05-09-2006, 08:14 AM
  4. widescreen
    By simonforbes1970 in forum Blu Ray, DVD, SVCD and VCD authoring
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-08-2006, 02:45 PM
  5. Why Widescreen Is Bad...
    By moldytoaster in forum Forum Announcements and News
    Replies: 54
    Last Post: 09-12-2005, 09:21 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •