Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Absolute Beginner

Default Absolute Beginner

Good Morning. My name is Becky. I have been given the rather daunting task of producing high quality videos for the YouTube channel my bosses would like to build. The most I have ever worked with is Windows Movie Maker and I have a Vaio. I have done enough research to know that Movie Maker and my little Vaio are not going to be able to produce what my bosses want. They are willing to invest in a new computer and software and the time it will take me to learn to use both because they recognize the value of being able to produce. their own videos/slideshows/presentations. However, I am now lost. There are so many systems and so much software available that I don't really know where to go from here. So, I am asking for help from people who have experience.
    I know I need a system that will support the software I need as well as one that will allow me to render, upload, and burn my videos. The type of videos they would like are what I would consider the equivalent of television commercial quality or music video quality. So, I am asking for advice from the experts:
    What Graphics card do I need?
    How much RAM?
    What Processor do I need?
    Would Windows 7 or 8 be a good operating system?
    What software program would you recommend for making the videos? I am pretty quick but bear in mind that I do not have a lot of experience so would be starting from scratch.
    Would I need a photoshop program as well or would good video software include the ability to manipulate the photos?
    I am being provided with video from a lot of different sources/cameras/video recorders. I'd like to recommend a camera that will produce high quality video to start with. It would have to be fairly simple to use as it would likely have multiple operators. Any ideas?