Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: VOB files and software

Default VOB files and software

Hi

I hope that I am posting this to the correct board.

I am new to PC editing but have been around linear editing for 10 + years on and off.

My question is I have recently recorded some footage of an operation onto a DVD with a Panasonic DVD recorder (approx 1hour 45mins) and need to edit it down to a reasonable size/quality.

The files on the DVD are VOB files, I have some basic video editing software (Magix videodeluxe 2) which seems pretty good but it will not import the VOB file, I think that this software is limited as per importing stuff.

I am only looking for basic splice editing and no fancy transitions required, but I would like to add other basic things like fade to black, rolling titles etc etc. The footage has to be able to be edited on my laptop so I can take my ruff cuts to the surgeon envolved so he can extend/cut as necessary.

I finally plan to output to DVD for patients.

Both of my machines are running at least 2000Mhz and 512mb with firewire if needed, I was hoping that if I recorded directly onto DVD it would be easier for the transfer.

What software would people recommend?

Regards

james

Blog Entries

If you're going to edit, it's probably best to capture footage directly to PC. It would be logical to assume that recording to a DVD first would make the process of transfering easier - but technology being technology, it just adds another variable into the equation.

Anyway, your first step would be to rip the VOB files to the hard drive. You can the use DVD2AVI to convert to AVI to edit in any application. There's a whole host of sites that deal with this... so it's just a matter of a google search for DVD2AVI.

Video Deluxe 2 should import VOB files. Occasionally it will not import the sound correctly, but mostly I have no problems.

You could try renaming the VOB to MPG, or MPEG as that is essentially what a VOB file is.