Thread: Synchronizing multiple camera footage

Default Synchronizing multiple camera footage

Hi All,
    I'm new to filming and editing, so please forgive my ignorance.
    I've got a GoPro Hero 3+ and a Sony HDR-TD30VE Camera. I'm planning on getting another GoPro at some point and possibly a Garmin Verb, as after my first couple of attempts making films, single camera angles limit the interest of the film in my opinion. Having multiple view points I hope will make my films much more interesting.

My problem comes in synchronizing the footage and audio and after searching around it seems that most of us do it by eye, manually. I certainly can't afford Pluraleyes.

However, is it possible to synchronize the time and date on all these cameras from my computer etc. so they all have exactly the same time/date set? And if so is it possible to synchronize the footage in post production by the time/date stamp?

Also is it possible to shift the time stamp on the footage to match the footage of another source in post production?

Just for reference I'm using Sony Movie Studio Platinum 12 64-bit on the PC, not sure if any other information would be helpful before people can answer.
    Many thanks

2. Default

If what you're shooting is scripted or planned in some way you could use a strobe at the beginning and/or the end of the shot to facilitate manual syncing. Mostly I use the audio from the various sources to get things close, then nudge a little to fine tune as needed.

Surrey, UK
    Blog Entries

So long as all can pick up audio, a short sharp clap - just a clap of your hands, two pieces of wood or even a clapperboard (oh, so that's what they are for!) will do the trick. Anything that will give a definite peak in the wave form. Alternatively a strobe as bouldersoundguy says - ie use a camera flash.