Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Output Card for Vegas? What is the best Economically viable

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    LONDON
    Posts
    18

    Default Output Card for Vegas? What is the best Economically viable

    Can anyone suggest the best Card to use with vegas to view on an external monitor ie composite/component reference?
    Tom Robinson
    Director/Cameraman/Editor

  2. #2

    Default

    You need to plug it into an "OHCI" Compliant 1394 port, (not a standard 1394 port) which could all ready be on your system.

    Make sure the preferences are correctly set, and this should be you set to go.

    Hope this help.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    11,514
    Blog Entries
    24

    Default

    Ah, but that would be for digital transfer. Our man wants to connect to an external monitor to enable previews.

    If it were Premiere, I'd recommend either

    1) an RTx.100 or
    2) Output to either a DV cam with analiogue pass through or a Canopus ADVC unit.

  4. #4

    Default

    Sorry, but it does need to be plugged into a OHCI compliant 1394 video card.

    Go to Vegas Help, and type in "External Monitor" select "Display" then "External Monitor via iEEE-1394 (Firewire)". You can select the "Set up external monitor" and it will show you a diagram.

    Here Vegas will explain how to view editing direct from the time line.

    Gord

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    11,514
    Blog Entries
    24

    Default

    Okie dokies... but that's assuming his equipment accepts a firewire signal You'll have to convert that to analogue to display on a monitor... eg through a DV cam or through a device such as the Canopus ADVC100.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    London
    Posts
    1,386

    Default

    Lucablue007 is my brother.
    Marc is right to a point a canopus system will do it however - I have a hollywood dazzle dv bridge(similar to canopus widgit) These devices rely on the processor and ram to build the picture on the monitor so if your friewire card is flakey - as most are then this aint ideal. I've had mine going out to an external monitor but it is never a stable image.

    What My bro is asking for is something like a full on sd/hd card and breakout box that has processing power of its own. In most full on pro suites the card alone can cost a few grand but we are looking for a slightly cheaper alternative. Something similar to the Matrox family.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Warsop, Nottinghamshire.
    Posts
    4,465
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    This preview thing is the only thing I hate about Vegas. Before 6 you could only output via firewire. Not much good (for me anyway). Fortunately 6 now offers preview down any old card.


    But I could be wrong.....

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    LONDON
    Posts
    18

    Default Firewire Card

    Cheers mucho for all assistance. I should probably invest in something other than my crappy "PC World" cheapy crappy firewire card and get something with a little more guts!

    Cheers again
    Tom Robinson
    Director/Cameraman/Editor

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    LONDON
    Posts
    18

    Default Mr Crane

    Would love to learn some more about your crane builds - Cranes in my opinion are what makes the shot. I work with a lot of jib operators and the dynamism of the shots are just breathtaking. I want a crane I want a crane!
    Tom Robinson
    Director/Cameraman/Editor

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Warsop, Nottinghamshire.
    Posts
    4,465
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default Re: Mr Crane

    Quote Originally Posted by lucablue007
    I want a crane I want a crane!
    Ha.

    Give me bags of cash!

Similar Threads

  1. Video Output FX not moving in Vegas 6
    By JoachimF in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-03-2005, 05:29 PM
  2. Vegas Output via Firwire Problem
    By irishmark in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-14-2005, 07:24 AM
  3. Output Card
    By lucablue007 in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-29-2005, 02:52 PM
  4. video capture card or AGP vid card
    By Dazedandconfused in forum Hardware Problems
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-21-2005, 11:27 AM
  5. Can a Matrox RTx100 card and Wildcat card be in same PC
    By dtb1980 in forum Hardware Problems
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-27-2004, 03:06 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •