Thread: UK members - Where do you buy your DVDs and Blurays from?

1. Default Where do you buy your DVDs and Blurays from?

Hi

I'm just starting out in the wedding videography business. Will be doing it part-time. Just wondering where you buy your blank DVDs and Blurays from? I've found a few sites online but they seem quite expensive. Any advice would be appreciated. Thanks.
    Last edited by Howlstan; 05-10-2014 at 11:52 PM.

Blog Entries

Hi Howlstan and welcome. I'm no pro, but I do occasionally film events and bits and pieces where I burn and sell DVDs usually in aid of the organisation I film. I simply use the most reliable media I can lay my hands on.

The difference between a really cheap blank DVD and a pretty good hi-end one (eg a TY Watershield) is maybe 40p (I think I pay about 60p per blank TY). How many copies are you likely to produce of each wedding? The cost of the media is surely insignificant - especially when you compare that the the cost (a) of your time when you have to replace one (remember, it's not just the cost of burning the DVD, but dealing with the phone calls/letters and doing the admin) and (b) to your reputation.

I appreciate every penny counts - especially when starting up a new venture, but going cheap on media which is such a small part of your unit cost is false economy to my mind. If I could buy the TYs at half price the price I do now would I? You bet I would! Would it make any difference to my costings for a project? Not at all!

To be honest I find the cost of the packaging much more of a concern.
    Tim

I'll declare a small interest in this subject since I come at it from two angles. Firstly, we do film weddings and live events that need DVD & Blu-ray production (which we do in house), but I was also in the CD / DVD / Blu-ray duplication industry for 15 years (and in floppy disk duplication before that) and can say hand on heart that Taiyo Yuden (TY) were without doubt the most reliable media we ever used.