Thread: Sound issues

Default Sound issues

Hi. I'm a newbie in this area, and I seem to be having a problem with sound, and while it's probably obvious to you guys, I've not a clue where I'm going wrong.

I have two Canon 5D's and a Panasonic MDC-1. I've used the microphones on the hotshoe directly plugged into the mic socket, and that seems fine. However, I got adventurous and wanted to use mikes off camera.

I've tried two things, and each is worse than the other.

First, I just used an extension lead for the audio cable and mounted the mike on a boom. Result, so much background hum, that the voices were inaudible.
    Secondly, I bought a wireless mike setup, and this is even worse. What appears to be mains hum drowns out the voices altogether.

I'm assuming it's something dumb to do with cable lengths, or impedence, or something, but like I say, I'm a complete novice at this.

HELP!!!

Thanks in advance.

Doug.

It sounds like you have a bad earth somewhere in there, so let me ask first about the cables you are using and what you are plugging in to the 5D. Are they mono or stereo cables? Get this wrong and you'll have an almighty hum because you could be shorting something that shouldn't be shorted!

Quote Originally Posted by David Partington View Post
    It sounds like you have a bad earth somewhere in there, so let me ask first about the cables you are using and what you are plugging in to the 5D. Are they mono or stereo cables? Get this wrong and you'll have an almighty hum because you could be shorting something that shouldn't be shorted!
    Ok. Here's what I've found so far.......