Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Needed: best video editing software without mouse dependency

Default Needed: best video editing software without mouse dependency

Hello. I've been a video journalist for years editing on Avid and sometimes Edius (and even front-panel editing on tape before that!). So I've become accustomed to editing very quickly on a timeline, using mostly shortcut keys to make basic in/out/cuts to slightly more fancy things like freeze frames, slow-mos, titles, audio mixes, rippling edits, etc.

I'm now on a sabbatical and looking to do a few personal editing projects from home using a mix of video (avi, mp4, wmv). I've searched for hours but can't seem to find a reasonably priced (under 100 or even better, free) video editing software programme that can do the above mentioned basics, which isn't heavily dependent on drag/drop mouse editing (which I find frustratingly slow and RSI-inducing).

Any suggestions from you experts and enthusiasts out there would be much, much appreciated!

Blog Entries

Premiere Elements has a multitude of key board shortcuts. Download a trial and take a look.

you might also want to check out Lightworks : http://www.lwks.com

It's actually been used to edit LOTS of Hollywood movies (check out the credits page - http://www.lwks.com/index.php?option...103&Itemid=214) .

It used to be free but now it seems they are charging. With a look, if only to illuminate it.

Blog Entries

Quote Originally Posted by Marc Peters View Post
    Premiere Elements has a multitude of key board shortcuts. Download a trial and take a look.
    Ditto Sony Vegas and Movie Studio. In fact I'm sitting in front of a ketboard that has printed on the keys a lot of (but far from all) the keyboard shortcuts. Not sure about Movie Studio, but Vegas Pro allows you to reassign keyboard shortcuts.
    Have you looked at the Contour shuttle device - might be of interest?
    Why is using a mouse more RSI inducing than using a keyboard? (Serious question)