Thread: Advice and help required - file types, format converting and importing FCX

Default Advice and help required - file types, format converting and importing FCX

Hi guys,

I'm editing a friends wedding video (I did not shoot the footage) and have been having problems with a few things. Before I start, I'm using FCX on an iMac.

Right, the wedding was shot on 2 cameras so I have 2 different types of files i'm working with. MP4 (I think) and something called 'AVCHD', I've never head of this before so it's very alien to me and I can't understand why something so simple such as importing video files is becoming such an annoyance! The logo is teh quicktime logo. When I double click a window opens up which shows all the individual video files, all of which are only playable via this window. I can't drag and drop them into FCX and when i go to import them via FCX the logo is greyed out. Please can someone shed some light on this? Although I have edited before, I'm only a beginner so please be patient if I don't understand your reply.

Another thing was this, am I completely stupid or does FCX not support MP4 files?????? When they're imported all I get is a green screen. I've began converting a bunch of the files to MOV which seem to import but I have several hours of footage here and it's 'taking 10 minutes to convert a 30 second clip. It's ridiculous. Any short cuts???

Hope to hear from you all soon!!! Cheers!!

I use FCPX all the time, so hopefully I can help, though I may need a little more detail on what you're doing to know what's wrong.

Firstly, how are you importing the files? You're not supposed to drag the files from the finder, you need to use the import dialog within FCPX.

FCPX imports and uses both MP4 and AVCHD with no problems.

What version of FCPX are you using, since a couple of things changed in the last version or two?