Thread: Change of career

Default Change of career

Hi Folks,

Not totally sure this is in the right section but here goes. I'm a recording / mixing engineer by trade, I've been involved with audio for over 15 years now but unfortunately I have an auto immune disorder which has attacked my left inner ear and rendered my days in the music industry over on any professional level. As you can imagine this is very upsetting but life goes on and i need to find a new creative outlet even if it is not a career. I have every intention of researching this further but welcome insight from people who are currently in the industry.

As you can imagine my editing chops are pretty tight and I learn new sequence based software very quickly. I've done video editing in Vegas in the past but not to any great extent. My questions are:

- As a recording engineer looking to make a jump over to video, what are the basic key elements I need to learn. Where mic placement, good capture, good use of eq and compression and a vision of the final product are essential principals in audio, what should be my initial aims going down this road?

- I'm 30, very creative and a quick learner. It's taken me 3-4 years to get my tracking / mixing chops to a professional standard. Am i looking at the same learning curve here..if not more?

- What tasks / exercises should I start with to familiarize myself with a camera and it's various modes of function.

- I'm not about to scrimp on gear, I've got about 5000 - 6000 to invest and was looking at two Canon 5D iii's as a start. As you've probably guessed, I'm not very knowledgeable but I want to learn with good equipment. Any suggestions? Aside from the cameras themselves what other basic gear will I need?