Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: how to sync playhead with timeline? final cut pro x

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Buenos Aires, Argentina, Argentina
    Posts
    5

    Default how to sync playhead with timeline? final cut pro x

    when i play a video longer that the wide of my screen it wont refresh the timeline where the playhead.
    i got camtasia for windows and i dont have problem, now that i m migration to apple i dont know how to solve that.
    thank you in advance guys



  2. #2

    Default

    FCPX doesn't allow for auto scrolling timeline. Accept it and move on. It's very much on the request list but Apple have not yet made it happen and don't appear interested.

    Personally I've got used to sideways scrolling using the magic mouse which works very well. If you're not using a magic mouse then hold the control key and use your regular mouse wheel. However, you'll notice that the thumbnails on the timeline don't update as you scroll. Part of FCPX performance comes from not having to update things that are not needed, and in that respect it works very well.

    If you can't live without an auto scrolling timeline, find some other software (e.g. Premiere Pro) for now because FCPX just doesn't do it.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Buenos Aires, Argentina, Argentina
    Posts
    5

    Default

    thank you so much for the answer.
    how come camtasia 8 or screenflow has the auto scrolling timeline and FCPX does not? haha that is crazy!!
    do you think premier is better than FCPX ? do they add features on ppl request?

    thank you in advance

    pd: i use trackball logitech marvel ( no scrool )

    Quote Originally Posted by David Partington View Post
    FCPX doesn't allow for auto scrolling timeline. Accept it and move on. It's very much on the request list but Apple have not yet made it happen and don't appear interested.

    Personally I've got used to sideways scrolling using the magic mouse which works very well. If you're not using a magic mouse then hold the control key and use your regular mouse wheel. However, you'll notice that the thumbnails on the timeline don't update as you scroll. Part of FCPX performance comes from not having to update things that are not needed, and in that respect it works very well.

    If you can't live without an auto scrolling timeline, find some other software (e.g. Premiere Pro) for now because FCPX just doesn't do it.

  4. #4

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by gabak View Post
    do you think premier is better than FCPX ? do they add features on ppl request?
    I have both. After lots of work on both I use FCPX exclusively now. Other people prefer Premiere Pro. Adobe appear to ignore users and with each new release there are new bugs which they deny until it's absolutely proven by many users. This isn't just once, it's time and time again over many products.

    Apple, while generally secretive do listen to end users. I've reported a couple of things and even made requests for some things and had direct contact back from Apple engineers asking for more information. Some things I asked for appears in new versions. Others, including a scrolling timeline have not. I assume there is a reason.

    I'm not going to say FCPX is better than Premiere Pro or the other way around. Use the one that suits you best.

    I got used to the scrolling timeline in Premiere Pro and loved it but now that I'm used to FCPX it has so many benefits over Premiere Pro (for me) that I don't mind not having the scrolling timeline as much as I would miss features from FCPX in Premiere Pro.

    You may feel differently, and that's OK because all tools are and should always be a personal choice.
    Last edited by David Partington; 03-31-2014 at 10:15 AM.

Similar Threads

  1. Sound Sync Problem editing timeline
    By worddigger in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-20-2012, 06:16 AM
  2. final cut express timeline is gone??
    By tazlawrie in forum Forum Announcements and News
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-03-2011, 08:17 AM
  3. Premiere: Audio Sync problems when moving video to timeline
    By guitarfaces in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 05-20-2010, 10:10 PM
  4. Sync In Timeline ... Not In Render
    By newfylox in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-01-2010, 06:48 AM
  5. Audio De-Sync when adding a clip to the timeline
    By hamez in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-07-2006, 05:55 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •