Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: DSLR Minefield!!!!!........need help

1. Default DSLR Minefield!!!!!........need help

OK so im looking to get a DSLR for shooting video to replace my HV30.

There are so many different Canon models that im having a hard time finding out which is best within my budget.

For the camera body, im looking to spend approx £500, then I need to find out about lenses for video also so could use some advice on how much ill be looking at for those.

I dont need anything too professional (i.e expensive) becuase im still learning and just making films/music videos for fun.

What I do want however is a better image than I get from my HV30 and better low light performance is critical too. Plus I want to get away from mini DV.

Can I get some advice please.

Thanks

Blog Entries

At that budget it would be the 700d.

Blog Entries

Then you'll be looking at least a grand for about 3 lenses to start you off. The lenses I own are a canon 28mm usm is, 50 mm 1.4 and 55-250 is ef-s. I also have a tokina 11-16 that I stick on a monopod upside down for low shots. Theses are pretty cheap lenses and the zoom is pretty awful at the longer lengths. But you pays your money! For me, I could easily spend a few grand and not notice much difference in output. If I could afford it, I'd spend a grand on a decent tele zoom and only buy lenses with is.

When I got my first DSLR for video. I knew I didn't have a ton of money for lens so I got a zoom first. This gives me more framing options and was what I was use to with normal video cameras. You can always get some nice fixed focal length lens later. Something like Marcs 55-250 would be my suggestion.

Having said that you have to bear in mind you will be paying twice for a lens if you don't get top notch lens first time round, It's a tough decision.

Blog Entries

I rarely use the zoom to be honest. My first lens would be a fast wide or standard prime if budget was a big issue.

6. Default