Thread: new to all of this

Default new to all of this

hello all. im trying to get into video editing so im brand new to all of this stuff. just wanted to try it as a hobby.

so i have adobe after effects and for my first try i wanted to create something like this http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2I6zE5g_S7I. here are a couple of a questions i have.

terms of difficulty is this on the easier or harder side?
    will i be able to do something like this ins AE?
    how to i go about finding soundtracks?
    and lastly how in the hell do i do that lighting effect with the headlights?????????????

thanks

It's not my genre, so I don't see why they made it - unless the car co paid them... If it's for Fun, then you have a Copyright issue since you are portraying a recognisable Brand/Product. Music Copyright can be a nightmare, too.
    I could find no story being told and that's the purpose of films - so I would suggest you learn the trade with simple films, maybe adding AE if the subject demands it. You'll need to learn about Focus, Exposure, Lighting, Movement, etc. then add audio, dialogue, music and . . . . so on.
    Join a Film-making club to get assistance, knowledge and suggestions - watching other folks' films can be a great way of learning.
    If you want to get into Editing as a career, it can be a pinch of Luck, but mostly it helps if you have studied/know the basics . . . only then should you progress to special effects. Thee is a saying: Less is more and to the above list you could add silence, pauses and basic filmic visuals like fog...

Good luck.

Quote Originally Posted by vidmanners View Post
    It's not my genre, so I don't see why they made it - unless the car co paid them... If it's for Fun, then you have a Copyright issue since you are portraying a recognisable Brand/Product. Music Copyright can be a nightmare, too.