Thread: Help with time critical decisions re. platform, application, method for preservation

Default Help with time critical decisions re. platform, application, method for preservation

Background:

I have zero experience with movie editing so please forgive me if I am asking silly questions.. I just got a new iMac, switching from a PC, based on the promise of a simpler to use, more reliable environment that supposedly is great for photo and movie editing/organizing. I can still return the Mac for 1 more week with no loss… I also have an additional PC with Windows 8.1 in the household.

I have to make decisions about the way to handle existing movie clips which I didn’t realize until very recently that cannot just easily be moved and used on different platforms by different applications, etc. I know that media, format, operating system, application all come into play but I didn’t know that it is this complex.

I have on DVDs copies (originally on a tape) of very precious video clips created on an old Camcorder. I do not want to edit them, I only want to preserve them and be able to view them for many more years. The format appears to be MPEG-2 (VOB,IFO,BUP; NVC files). In addition, I have newer movie clips created on a newer Sony Camcorder (m2ts.modd,m2ts files), saved on the PC using the Camcorder’s SW (that doesn’t work on the Mac). None of these movie clips have been edited and they do not have titles, locations, dates, etc. associated with them….The files are in folders with approximate dates.

Goals:

• I would have liked to consolidate all movies (old, newer and future ones) in the same place to back them up for safe local and off-site storage and to organize them