Thread: Very novice.

Default Very novice.

Hi, I'm new to this forum, and to the subject in general, so I'm likely to be asking some incredibly stupid questions. Please bear with me. I know I should do lots of research myself, but I need to sort out some equipment asap for work. I hope you won't mind me asking away.

Iím looking for some advice. Ok, a lot of advice.

I have no background in video work, Iím a publisher, but a number of my clients have asked if I can produce short videos (30 minute average) of presentations given by doctors. Iíve decided to have a go at doing this myself as itís something I find interesting. Below Iíve listed the probable scenarios in which Iíd be filming and I very much appreciate some input as to what equipment Iíd need, without breaking the bankÖthe lowest cost would be nice, very nice.

Venues: Almost all in doctorsí offices and small conference rooms, where thereíll be either good natural light, or none at all. There might rarely be a need to film in a big conference hall, but if this means having to compromise too much on which camera then Iíll cross that bridge when I come to it.
    Camera: I really donít want to break the bank, but I want good enough quality for making DVDs and web based content. Good auto options would be preferable. A lens that can work in small rooms without distorting the image would be required and something that works well in low light.
    Sound equipment: As Iíll be filming in noisy hospitals Iím assuming a lapel mic would be best, am I right? But if not then what? If so, wireless or with cable? Is it better to record directly into the camera or otherwise?

Tripod: Iíve got a pretty good Redsnapper tripod for use with my Nikon D90, itís fairly heavy and solid, but would I need something more sturdy?
    Lighting: Iíd prefer to avoid this altogether, but can I bearing in mind the possibility of zero natural light in some venues? I imagine not, so whatís the bare minimum I can get away with?