Thread: Student wants to learn and needs your advise

Default Student wants to learn and needs your advise

I am a student and want to improve my techniques. I shot this video with my Canon T3i DSLR and everything else is on the cheap. Please let me know how I can improve. Any tip will help.

I posted the video on youtube. Please view and advise:

Thank you very much.

Surrey, UK
    Blog Entries

I realise she's whispering, but I struggled to make out the dialogue. I don't know whether it's intentional or not but I could not make out what "satan" was saying.
    The exposition rather dragged on.
    However it had some good shooting in low light and, apart from a bit of a pause at the very beginning the characters were believable.

{Incidentally I have deleted your other thread and moved my comments here - please don't post duplicates in different threads it becomes confusing]
    Last edited by TimStannard; 03-05-2014 at 06:41 AM.

The voice level is very low and I guess you used a camera mic instead of a dedicated one. So I guess as I am only complaining about audio the visuals are fine

London, England

It really helps IMHO, if your first movie conveys a "Story" rather than something the audience has to guess-at.
    The starting low-audio and (louder) music-effect make it appear like a fault. Scrolling on there is a door slam which is well recorded but I missed any sync with a door.
    Have you tried filming in bright and darkening in Post? Perhaps you did?
    I think the audio needs a rethink . . . remember that not everyone (even youngsters), has good hearing; - so you have to make it easy for them too.