Thread: Fair rates?

Question Fair rates?

Hey everyone, haven't been here in a little while, been super busy these days. For those of you who do charge to film and edit video, how do you come up with an accurate fee? And what's considered the average going rate for video work these days? Hourly or by the job? I have been working with Michigan based artists for almost 2 years, and I'm pretty sure I'm under-charging my clients (well nowadays anyways, since the quality of work is night & day comparing then till now). I know that around here, people are hit hard by the state of the economy, so it's a real fine line to walk on, making sure you can get steady work without losing money on the venture.

So I'm curious as to how much you think a video such as the following 30 minute live performance is fairly worth? The video is already bought and paid for, I'm just wondering around how off I am.

Hard to judge by pricing by watching any video. I base projects on filming time @75 per hour (2cams) and edit time @45ph. Travel time is costed same as edit time.
    Every job is different! some take 2 hours to get to work site, then project time + reshoots/add ons, conversions, DVDs all take time, so my calculations make sure I'm not down to big Mc rates.
    The last live band shoot worked out at 500, but only cause I asked what their budget was and this allowed a spare hour or two to add a little more polish.
    This is probably the first question you should ask (your quality has improved, so you should be in demand) and their answer will reflect just how popular your style is.

Other than that, work out how many hours you spent setting up, filming, editing, converting and uploading the above, divide the ammount charged by the hours and you then have an hourly rate. Is this rate enough (and regular enough) for you to continue in business?
    Only you will have the answers!