Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Camera Lights

Default Camera Lights

Hey everyone,

I'm a newbie at filming/editing, and I've been filming some stuff with a Canon 600d from a friend.
    Anyway, the footage doesn't look too good with some interior lights (on a garage for example), and I would like to know what kind of light should we use for filming.

Let me know if you got my question.
    Thanks a lot.

We need more information to be able to advise you. In what way does it not look good, what are you filming etc....?

Hey,

I think it looks kinda dark and fuzzy, as you can see here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZobD37ISYhY (I used a filter already, so it doesn't look that bad, but I think you can get the idea).
    I was filming that 'horror' trailer (it was my first filming and editing experience by far) and soon I'll record a horror shot film. Most of the records are made inside an house, and those ones where made inside a garage.

I did some research and I think that buying a small LED light to attach to the camera would be a nice deal, what do you think?

Blog Entries

Quote Originally Posted by Gus Maia View Post
    I did some research and I think that buying a small LED light to attach to the camera would be a nice deal, what do you think?
    I would not have thought an on-camera light is what you want. They are really designed for illuminating whatever is immediately in front of the camera - typically for filming someone doing a piece to camera (eg a news reporter). That is all they light and the direction of the light moves as you move the camera. What you are trying to film are scenes. You want the whole scene - subjects and background - lit and you almost certanly do NOT want the direction of teh ight to change as you pan around the shot.