Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Noob question. HD Video quality at full screen.

1. Default Noob question. HD Video quality at full screen.

Hey, I'm very new to this and I could be asking a very simple and stupid question that's probably been asked before.

I have a couple of Nikon photography cameras that also record HD video; a D3100 DSLR that records 1080(can't remember if i or p off the top of my head) and a Nikon Coolpix L310 that records 720p.

Now the issue I'm having is this, when I transfer the footage I film to either my iMac or my PC it looks great if I have it in smallish window, say standard youtube size. However it becomes far from HD when I view in full screen or any larger size (very grainy). Now I can't say much about the L310 but I have seen footage allegedly from a D3100 that maintains its HD at full screen.

Is this possibly because I am viewing on non HD monitors? I ask because despite them not being HD monitors, when I watch HD video on Youtube I have been able to watch a perfectly crisp picture at full screen.

Is there something I'm missing.

Thanks for the help.

Andy.

Which resolution does your full screen have?

3. Default

My iMac is on 1680 x 1050.

1) What software are you using to display the video?

2) What resolution are you actually running at?

3) If you're playing this back in your editor, what resolution is your timeline set to and what quality playback is it set to?(e.g. premiere pro could be set to full, half, quarter etc).

4) What have you done with the footage since taking it out of the camera, e.g. transcoding or importing directly to the player/editor etc?

5. Default

Thanks for the responses.