Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: fade to b/W

  1. #1

    Default fade to b/W

    Hi.

    I'm trying to have the end clip only on my timeline fade to B/W but when I change it to B/W the whole lot change.
    I've tried various methods but none seem to work for me?

    I'm using Vegas Pro12

    Much appreciated

    Paul.

  2. #2

    Default

    Use a pure whit/black still an let it fade in on top of all tracks.

  3. #3

    Default

    Hi thanks.

    Sorry I don’t think I explained myself clearly. What I’m trying to do is have my video in colour as normal but would like the last one minute clip to be in black and white. I’ve not used it in a while so a bit rusty. It’s amazing how quickly one can forget how to do even the most simple tasks after a while.

    Thanks

    Paul.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Surrey, UK
    Posts
    10,847
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    You need to keyframe it (actually there are other ways, but this is one way)
    1. Apply the B&W Effect to the event
    2. Click the "clock" icon next to the the "Blend Amount" slider (this is the "animate" icon)
    3. Slide the Blend amount slider to the left (0.000)
    4. Move the cursor to where you want to begin the fade to b&w & click the + sign in a diamond at the bottom of teh screem (this creates another "keyframe" and states that the blend amount at this time should be 0.000)
    5. Move the cursor to where you want the effect to have finished (ie the frame where ou want it to have become fully B&W)
    6. Drag the Blend amount cursor fully to the right (1.000)

    Job done.

    I did create a veg whcih shows you, but i couldn't get it to upload. PM me if you need it and I'll mail it to you.

    Anotrher option is to dulicate your track, make one B&W and one full colout and fade the colour one out (or the B&W one in, depending on your track order) using a composite envelope.
    Tim

  5. #5

    Default

    Perfect reply Tim, 'cept one/two nitpicking observations.

    Having the FX applied to the whole Event may give increased render times - even though it is set at ZERO for most of the Event. I'd be inclined to SPLIT-off the last bit then either create a Subbie or not and apply the FX just to that. Also making the FX confined to just the job in hand, it designs-out any potential cross FX-ing that could occur between compositing and the like.

    But as I said, I'm nitpicking.

    ...

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Surrey, UK
    Posts
    10,847
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Grazie View Post
    But as I said, I'm nitpicking.
    Nevertheless, helpful comments. I hadn't considered the former, though cross-FXing (as you put it) is always worth considering.
    Tim

  7. #7

    Default

    Hey Guys many thanks for the tips, so simple when you know how.

    Got it now.

    Appreciated.

    Paul C.

Similar Threads

  1. fade out
    By sr11e in forum Pinnacle Studio, Edition including Avid Xpress and Liquid
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-26-2009, 10:34 PM
  2. fade in/fade out on media import - changing default
    By Stormy in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-19-2009, 05:21 AM
  3. fade
    By cunnie65 in forum Blu Ray, DVD, SVCD and VCD authoring
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-26-2006, 09:34 PM
  4. fade in
    By semister in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-19-2004, 12:21 AM
  5. Where's the Fade In, Fade out option?
    By Saint Seiya in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 05-19-2004, 09:36 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •