Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Canon 70D questions !!!

Default Canon 70D questions !!!

Hi Guys,

I am an enthusiast photographer but have been wanting to get into videography for a while.
    My gear is a Canon 60D and the kit 18-135mm IS lens (non-STM) and the canon 50mm f1.8 prime lens.

I want to upgrade my equipment, especially my lenses. Now that I do both photography as well as plan to do videography the lens and camera have to be good for both.
    So here are the questions !!!

1) Is it really worth upgrading to Canon 70D over 60D because of the EOS 70D's Dual Pixel CMOS focusing technology? I have read it provides smooth auto-focusing when doing videography but do you guys actually find that feature useful (or does it even work with 60D?) or manual focusing is still the way and better way to go?
    I don't really have problems with manual focusing. I can see a point in automatic focusing only if it can precisely track and keep in focus on a moving object in the video mode, but I don't know how good 70D is at it hence the question.

2) Lenses. I am debating between the Canon 24-105mm L f4.0 and 18-135 STM IS lenses. One one hand I prefer the L lens because it will provide a better picture quality for photography, (as well as will last longer, since I might go full frame down the road and the L lens will work with full-frame) but on the other hand I have read that STM is better for video silent focusing. Also I have read that STM lens has "dynamic Image Stabilization". Is it significantly better for video IS when compared to regular IS lenses?
    I can only see a point in getting the STM lens if the auto focusing on 70D is actually working and is better then manual focusing and also the dynamic IS is significantly better to regular IS of all other lenses.

Any help as well as any other recommendations as far as lenses and camera bodies are very welcome !!!

Thanks !!!
    Last edited by Van Gogh; 01-04-2014 at 04:58 AM.