Thread: Proper Price Points... ?

Default Proper Price Points... ?

Hey guys, as you may have seen in my previous thread "Criticism Required" I'm a fairly amateur wedding videographer. I'm wondering what type of price points and/or options one may offer to their potential customers. I'm basically a one man show (with an assistant). I've heard word of different "options" one may give to their customers when they ask about prices. I'm curious as to what the ballpark of those "options" may be.

Thanks!

Aaron

Our options consist of main 2 camera wedding coverage up to the 2nd dance with bride at home coverage and same day edit as optional extras. We also offer a cheaper option of coverage up to the bridal party's entrance at reception @2/3rds cost of main.

Like many, it took a few years to establish what was an original style at the time and this is what built and sustained our reputation.
    I refused to look at any wedding videos at all until I'd developed what I felt was a unique take on a wedding day and could subsequently charge a rate that reflected the time spent on filming and editing to our chosen style.
    Nowadays of course anyone can watch you tube and cherry pick all the bits they want to copy, creating a mish mash of everyone else's style, in effect giving clients a choice of very similar productions with just the prices to compare.
    You may of course do what a few others do and contact established operators under the guise of "we're getting married can we have a sample DVD of what you do" (though they'll probably see you coming) and go through the whole production to mimic the filming style too.

Another option is to offer 'short form' coverage, which if you just want to use your arty shots with music over the top, that will fill a niche, then you can stick the ceremony and speeches unedited as extra chapters. Less work = cheaper package.