Thread: Music Track permission

Default Music Track permission

A tricky one, but someone might have an idea where I can go for permission to use a music track.
    It's a well known rock song, but I wish to make a video for you tube that uses a regional accent over the original or re-recorded backing track. Any ideas where I go for permission guys?
    My opinions are just that . . . Mine. It's not personal, but is based on my emotional and professional reaction to requested critique. If you choose to ignore constructive comments, I'll just assume you're a vanity poster and not posting to improve your filming and editing skills.

Ex A.P.V Videomaker of the year - Ex M.M. IOV Come join my EXclusive club

I'm not an expert by any means but I think PRS is probably what you're looking for: http://www.prsformusic.com/users/Pages/default.aspx
    Driftwood - Available on iTunes - www.driftwoodfilm.co.uk

Follow me on twitter - @DirectorJWebber

Cheers guys, much appreciated! - I was thinking along the lines of re- recording the song as the 'cheapest way forward'. I'll check PRS and see how it goes.
    My opinions are just that . . . Mine. It's not personal, but is based on my emotional and professional reaction to requested critique. If you choose to ignore constructive comments, I'll just assume you're a vanity poster and not posting to improve your filming and editing skills.

Ex A.P.V Videomaker of the year - Ex M.M. IOV Come join my EXclusive club

I think we need to be very sensitive to people's copyright . . . and get them involved at the beginning.<br>
    <br>
    You might turn the process the other way round...praise their work you like and suggest a new idea - do they have anything that would fit? <br>