Thread: Newbie video here - seeking advice

Default Newbie video here - seeking advice

Hey guys I am brand new to this and from what I've seen most of you are way ahead of me. Anyways I put this together using AVS 6.0 and would very much appreciate any sort of feedback. Thank you.

Nice editing but I think the music was too calm for the action sequences. Furthermore did you not build up the video to a climax and it was too long for me. Three minutes would have been about right. I would e.g. put the sequence of getting a part of the basket net in the end, the empty floor from 0:46 followed by the posters from 0:04 would have been my first sequences. In the sequence at 0:20 one player would have been sufficient. Maybe fade them into each other as starting the sequence over and over again somehow takes off the pace.

I'm a bit confused. Obviously this is not your own footage, and really you could have a computer program edit bits of footage together with the right(ish) soundtrack and make it seem ok, which is what this is.

I don't get the point.

Overall - a good start.

A lot of the early scenes appear to have been slowed down in post, but sadly but not very well. Use programs like Twixtor (which costs money), Time Warp in After Effects (free if you have AE! Set the quality to highest and it usually does a great job), or Optical Flow if using FCPX or Motion.

For scenes where they are on court you need to add some ambient sounds of cheering, clapping, general crowd noise etc - it makes a HUGE different.

Remember, audio is at least half of video and without it things can easily 'look' flat. Take a great cinematographer and give them a bad sound track and you have a mediocre film at best. Take a mediocre cinematographer and given them a great sound track and all of a sudden the pictures look much better. It's something worth remembering. Music isn't the only thing in a great sound track.