Thread: A few questions about how to organize wedding video editing

1. Default A few questions about how to organize wedding video editing

I need advice...
    I am not new to video editing but I am new to editing wedding videos...

I am doing my editing in adobe premiere pro cs 5.5. The footage is done by 2 DSLR cameras which are not synchronized (no clapper). Problem is that I have hundreds of clips which are organized only by the name of the guy who shot them... So I have 2 folders, lets say John & Jim and subfolders with names 1,2,3,4,5 for each memory card they filled...

What is the best way to go here?

Right now I am doing it by raw cutting the first camera footage, then synchronizing visually if I find same material from different angle on second camera... the rest from the second camera I am raw cutting as a b role... The boring part is finding the same clips on the second camera
    I made the second sequence in which I copy the best moments so I can get the best moments video at the end...
    I hope you get the question, sorry for my english...

Thank you very much...

First question…. do the DSLRs have timecode (the 5D3 does, 5D2 not),or can you see the time of day the clips were shot? We frequently sort by time of day to find clips shot on different cameras at the same time, and the same for audio clips. Of course this means taking 5 minutes out at the start of the day to make sure everything has roughly the same time set but it's very worth it in the long run.

Next, I would scrap the two folders idea. I would create bins in Premiere Pro per 'event' within the day, so 'bride prep', 'groom prep', 'pre-ceremony', 'ceremony', 'reception' etc etc. Sort the clips from each camera in to the appropriate bin because it makes it much easier to find those second clips when you need them. You're looking through 10 or 20 clips instead of 200-400 clips.