Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: I'm new at editing, what software should I use?

Default I'm new at editing, what software should I use?

Hi there

I'm new at editing and I've got only experience with Windows Movie Maker (simple, but not what I want) and VideoPad (I found out it's quite bad).
    I've got a youtube channel where I want to post music videos of my favorite movies/TV series, but they aren't what I want them to be with WMM or VideoPad. I'm also making a horror-like short film for French with my friends and I want it to be as good as possible and maybe, if it's good enough, post it on my youtube channel too. But I have no clue what software is good for what I want to do:
    - sound, music, video editing
    - adding text (credits, titles, ...)
    - adding effects (colors, transitions, ...)

I'm filming with a Nikon Coolpix S9500 if that matters. I've got windows XP SP3 and I would like the software to be free, but it doesn't really matter...

The most recent thread with software tips and some general advice here.
    Sony's Movie Studio version 12 needs at least Vista though. The previous version with many extras (Vegas Movie Studio Platinum Production Suite 11, which works with XP) seems to be available at a bargain price at the moment.

You could try to download Windows Live Movie Maker (for HD footage), - but you may still have to upgrade yr PC + OS to Win 7, or newer. However, having tried WLMM I found the features poor and confusing, by contrast Sony's Movie Studio is far easier (although you do need to learn it by following the Show Me How active tutorials) - also I'd rec you get the "Suite" version, e.g. SVMS Suite v12 ~ 35 Amazon looks like a real bargain.
    On Sony creative website there is some tutorial material. (mostly for the Vegas software, which is the PRO version).