Thread: Audio sync prob

Default Audio sync prob

Hello everyone - I can't help feeling I'm about to ask a really noob question here, but here goes :-

I'm very new to video but not new to audio/music recording & production. I use an external unit for audio - MOTU 828 - and Acoustica Mixcraft for editing. As for video, I use VideoPad (NCH) - but I'm trying out TrakAx at the moment, which I'm very close to buying, if only I can figure out this problem...

I recently set up two camcorders to record a two-way conversation, as a video podcast.
    I set up two mics too, with their resultant mix rendered as a WAV.

The intention was to cut the two video tracks, as if it was being live-mixed on a TV show, with the soundtrack chopped up accordingly and stuck to it, in sync.

Can anyone explain how one of the cameras seems to be totally out of sync with the audio, even when you find an exact match at one point? It 'goes out' with in a minute or so.

I also tried recapturing the errant track into a different destination (my laptop) just to see if that made any difference. (No)

Thank you.

[I realise I'll need better cameras eventually, but for what it's worth I've got a Sony Handicam and a Panasonic mini DV.]

For what you are doing, I think you have gone about this the wrong way round. If you have edited the audio before editing the video it will not be in sync.

The way to do it is, in the video editor, match up the audio with the video and do your cuts etc. Then when you are happy with what you have you can export the audio into an audio program for tweaking EQ etc. but not cutting.

Does this make sense ?

I have not heard of either of the video editing programs you have mentioned so take a look at Sony movie studio before you make your purchase. It is a good video editing program and has some good audio tools included.

Thanks MB!