Thread: Final Cut Pro X - dealing with long clips

Default Final Cut Pro X - dealing with long clips

Hi, I am new to Final Cut Pro and have downloaded a trial copy of FCP X onto my macbook.

I have a lot of very long clips and I am confused by the options for dealing with them.

I have read that you can split clips by creating a compound clip from a selected part of a clip, but I donít know what happens to the new clip if I delete the one it was created from?

I also understand that I can mark sections of clips and favourite them. But assume that the bits that are not favourites are still on my computer
    One of my main objectives is to get rid of a lot of unwanted footage which is taking up lots of storage space.

If I shoot 30 mins of film, I probably only want to keep five minutes of it. I donít want the rest to be stored on my hard drive.

I cannot get around the long clips at the filming stage as I am filming myself dog training with the camera remote from me.

Essentially I want to be able to edit long clips and remove wastage in my raw footage from my hard drive, this seems a very basic function and I feel sure I have overlooked something.

Can anyone advise me?

Pippa

Using fcpx to split clips is like buying a 2009 Concept Camaro and using it to crush ants in your driveway - there should be a copy of iMovie on your compooper and it will do the job without any hassles - once you export the stuff you want from iMovie you can move the original footage to your archive
    Last edited by zamiotana; 10-19-2013 at 01:08 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by zamiotana View Post
    Using fcpx to split clips is like buying a 2009 Concept Camaro and using it to crush ants in your driveway - there should be a copy of iMovie on your compooper and it will do the job without any hassles